Seeing is Believing; Believing is Achieving

The Personal Experiment

I Don’t Believe In…!

Posted by sibbia on October 7, 2007

 Eye and Magnifying glass

 “I don’t believe in the Law of Attraction.  I don’t believe in God.  I don’t believe one can learn to always control their emotional response.  I don’t believe in reincarnation.  I don’t believe in Islam, in Christ, in meditation, in trance, Buddhism.  I don’t believe, I don’t believe!!!”

I’m waiting for someone to tell me they don’t believe in gravity.

This modern era we live in has been described as the time of the skeptic and skepticism.  We are, supposedly, enamored with science and fact-finding.  We want truth and facts, not faith or belief.

That description is wrong.

We have become a society of “un”believers.  The vast majority of us have a narrow, myopic view of what is possible, of reality itself, and take a quiet, perverse pleasure in brushing off anything that doesn’t fit that world view as something they don’t believe in.

So I’m issuing a challenge, but before we go any further we need to review some definitions:

Fact
1.   Something that actually exists; reality; truth.
2.   A truth known by actual experience or observation.

Opinion 
1. A belief or judgment that rests on grounds insufficient to produce complete certainty.
2. A personal view, attitude, or appraisal.

Believe in:  to be persuaded of the truth or existence of.

One acceptable definition of fact is something known through direct experience or observation and to believe in something is to be persuaded of its truth.  Given these definitions, I want to encourage everyone who reads this to challenges his or her current beliefs.  I want to bring back the era of the skeptic.

Skepticism:  (synonyms)  questioning, probing, testing

For a moment, or just for a particular subject, throw away what you think you know.  The atheist can ponder the existence of God with new eyes.  The Christian can study the teachings of the Hindu or Muslim.  The Jew can ask if Christ was the Messiah.

But this isn’t limited to religion by any means… look into UFOs, hypnotic writing, energy healing, secret societies, love at first sight — absolutely anything you don’t believe in is fair game.

The goal?  Try to prove that it’s true, that it exists.  If, after a deep look into the matter, you cannot prove it exists (is true etc) then ask if you can definitely prove it doesn’t.  Was there one story or case that might give it validity?  Is there any way you can verify things personally? (by trying it yourself)

The point of this exercise?  To expand your consciousness and your awareness.  To create more open minds, more dreams and more possibilities when just a few more people say to themselves, “What if?”  To reawaken the skeptic — by reminding us all that things can be investigated with purpose of proving the theory, idea or belief — with an open mind — instead of one closed to new ideas.

And for the blogs and bloggers I know and love:

Surface Earth, To Be Me, CuriousC, Mighty Morgan, Sophia, Catherine and Enreal

I hope you will join me in writing a post that the covers the result of challenging one belief!

Namaste.

signature.jpg

*Photo from Patrick Wilken at flickr

14 Responses to “I Don’t Believe In…!”

  1. Melvin Tan said

    Hi,
    Stumbled onto your site.I enjoyed the I dun believe in gravity analogy.. Keep up the good work ! Love your title Seeing is Believing; Believing is Achieving.

  2. sibbia said

    Welcome Melvin! Glad you stopped by. And congrats on the ezine article!!

  3. tobeme said

    This is a great exercise for all of us! I try to do this all the time. The most difficult part of this exercise is becoming the observer, being able to step outside of our self and our normal mode of thinking. We tend to prove what we want to prove. When making a decision we tend to find what we want to find.
    We must be dillegnet not to allow ourselves get in the way of this exercise! Great idea.

  4. Morgan said

    Ohhhh I’m gonna be all over this one girl! I love challenges and anything for that matter that has the capacity to stretch my mind past the limits of it so called “beliefs”
    I’m gonna have to think on this one a bit…but will let you know when I have it posted…thanks for thinking of me and be well!

  5. CuriousC said

    Thanks Sibbia! I even just today wrote down that I don’t know what my values and beliefs are anymore yet I certainly can (at times) be sarcastic and judgmental! (forgive me here some more when I say I’m posting this as a test.. on some blogs my comments don’t link back to my blog and I don’t know why… Testing 1-2-3 testing! Maybe I’m RIGHT HERE trying to prove what WORKS or NOT! Thanks, C

  6. […] Morgan here, author of The Process of a Miracle. I have been challenged by Sibba, author of Seeing is Believing… to pick a belief to change within my life. But I thought it would make it more interesting by […]

  7. Hi Sibbia,

    I love this post. Thanks for the invite. Been a tad busy, but it is on the to do list!

  8. Sounds like a plan……………………….peace Sibbia!

  9. enreal said

    I would be honored, thank you Sibbia

  10. […] This article is my contribution to a request to comment on a post that Sibbia wrote titled, “I Don’t Believe In… ” The article makes a simple request to the unbeliever, doubter or […]

  11. Sue Ann Edwards said

    Even belief in nothing is a belief. Smiling.

  12. […] don’t believe in…” In response to a challenge, Challenging ones beliefs. Sibbia made me explore a part of me that I never questioned before…my beliefs. I believe in almost […]

  13. […] Sibbia on “I Don’t Believe In…”. […]

  14. […] Consider the Gauntlet Dropped Sibbia on “I Don’t Believe In…”. […]

Leave a Reply

 
