Seeing is Believing; Believing is Achieving

The Personal Experiment

Asking the Right Questions

Posted by sibbia on August 24, 2007

We’ve previously discussed the idea of asking for Divine guidance and wisdom in our lives and my last post talks about changing or shifting your energy in order to attract what you want or need.

Now let’s carry that thought one step further.  What would happen if we believed (and acted on the belief) that we already had the answer to any question we might want to ask?  Wouldn’t this just be the realization of the idea that all true knowledge comes from within?

What if, just what if, you already had and knew everything you needed to live the life of your dreams? 

How would you feel?  What would you do?  What would be different?

Personal Account

It was once suggested that this blog should be titled “speaking is believing” and for good reason.  If I could impart one idea as paramount it would be to watch your words and thoughts, to be careful what you say to yourself and others.  Recently, a fellow blogger at over at million-dollar-blog.com gave me another way to do just that.

He wrote a post on how to ask the right questions back in May which I discovered a few weeks ago.  It is meant to get you asking the kind of questions you need to get more positive results and is based on the premise that whenever you ask yourself a question, your mind immediately works to find an answer.

After reading this post and paying attention to my normal internal conversations, I realized that I still often asked myself the wrong questions!  And I’m willing to bet that most of us do the same.

For instance, my favorite question has always been, “why?”  If I don’t understand, I want to know why.  If something doesn’t go as planned… I ask why.

Why did this happen?  Why am I in this situation?  Why haven’t I still done <fill in the blank> yet?

Does any of this sound familiar?

In the weeks after reading that post, I’m beginning to replace why with what and how.  It goes like this:

What happened?  How do I respond to it?  What’s the best thing for me to do in this situation?  What can I do now to get this done?

Can you see the difference?

Your mind will respond very differently to the second set of questions than it did the first.  This is a wonderful, simple practice that can be added to your day along with a few regular affirmations.  Just ask yourself a question you need the answer to and wait to see what comes to you, both right then and throughout the day.

Try it for a week and let me know what you think.  Try it today and see what happens!

Start with a question from the million dollar blog and ask yourself, “how could I improve my life or something around me by 1 percent?

Then keep an eye out for my post on questions that can change your life.  Remember, it really is all in your head! 🙂

Sign up to receive my posts by email and never miss an entry!  Also, please remember to keep Anne in your thoughts and prayers, her story is here.

7 Responses to “Asking the Right Questions”

  1. tobeme said

    Great post! Asking the right questions is so very important in all aspects of our life! Have you ever noticed that sometimes we think we are asking a question, however in reality we are simply making a statement. Great words of wisdom!

  2. sibbia said

    You’re right! That does happen!! Statements are closed and definitive, just the process of asking a question helps you realize you have options.

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. morgan said

    Why is such a circular reference right back to the percieved problem. You are so on target in asking “how”…I was taught that
    “HOW” in it’s most simpistic form is basically
    Honesty
    Open mindedness
    Willingness

    Honestly take at look at the situation…be open to see there is more and willing to take action within your own life to change the situtation.

    How is the solution to why.
    🙂

  4. sibbia said

    Hi Morgan, welcome back to civilization!

    That comment could have been the basis for an entire post, thanks so much for sharing.

    I’m really going to have to remember to stop, take a deep breath and work on the three steps to learning H.O.W.

  5. Hyacinth said

    Sibbia, what you have suggested here serves as stress busters for me. It makes me feel good just by considering the process. Somehow, it reminds me of something I became acquainted with a long time ago called the Gestalt Theory in which the focus was centered around “turning things around”. However, I never thought of it in the perspective you have placed it. How beautiful it is to communicate with teachers of good things! Oh, this is beautiful. This method can definitely help me to employ the standards I believe in. I don’t have words to thank you enough for this. Thanks again for adding to my self-control.

  6. sibbia said

    The Gestalt Theory? I’m not familiar with that one. I’ll look into it. I’m always looking for ways to improve. Now you’re the teacher 🙂

    The idea for that post came from another blogger… I tried what he suggested and found it worked well. We all learn and share and learn some more.

    Thanks for helping to continue the cycle.

  7. MDB said

    Sibbia, I almost feel embarrassed by the attention, but I guess I can get over it 😀 I find a lot of what I write is kind of a personal note to myself so I am surprised as well as glad when I find that someone else has tried it out to positive effect.

    I like what you have added about changing the why to what and how and getting down to the facts. It is such a useful practice when you start to notice the questions you ask yourself.

Leave a Reply

 
